Why Twitter works

Twitter, signified by a little blue bird in relation to the verb “tweeting”, has boomed over the past couple of years. You are limited to 140 characters to say what you want, how is that enough room to express your rant about something significant, but not really, that you dealt with.

Twitter succeeds in my personal opinion because its easy to read, easy to update and a sufficient time filler while you stand in line at Starbucks at 6am to order you steaming hot cup of wake me up, or some other event in which your attention is found in your palm and not elsewhere.

In the library world, Twitter is most effectively used as a megaphone for events, new displays, new books, etc.  UBC (University of British Columbia) libraries used twitter to share with followers the types of reference questions they answered throughout the day. (Fields, 2010) Using Twitter in this unique way encourage interaction with followers. The best application of Twitter in a library is a perfect combination of both. Too much personal can lead to an incorrect view of the library where as too much professional can lead to an incorrect view of the library. Do you see where I am going with this?

SJSU Library uses their twitter account in a such a way. I know by browsing through past tweets I will be abelt of ind just about every event, new exhibit, hour change and new resource that occurred since the birth of @SJSU_kinglib. However, I can also find some inner touches of personality, although I think they could do a better job in spreading that around.

What is your opinion? Let me know @NimbleLibrarian

PS: graphics? no graphics?

-NimbleLibrarian

References:

Fields, E. (2010). A unique twitter use for reference services. Library Hi Tech News, 27(6), 14-15

One thought on “Why Twitter works

  1. I think that Twitter is great for spreading general information about the library, but to me that seems like all it is good for. I'm not as familiar with Twitter but I always thought that Tweets were not permanent and they are only visible while in your feed? This is a problem for me. I like that it's easy to post a problem and I think libraries should monitor it for that, but it seems difficult to relevant information as well as personality into 140 characters.

Leave a Reply

